Oxary Magazine
$10 – $15 / Week

The Ultimate Tarot Card Meanings List: A Comprehensive Guide

Tarot Card Meanings List

Tarot cards have been used for centuries as a tool for divination and self-discovery. The practice of tarot card reading course has become increasingly popular in recent years, with many seeking guidance and insight into their lives from the comfort of their own homes. If you are interested in learning more about tarot card meanings and perhaps even pursuing a tarot card course, then read on for a comprehensive list of the major arcana and minor arcana cards and their interpretations.

Tarot Card Meanings List











Major Arcana:

The major arcana cards represent significant life events and themes. They are often seen as the most powerful and transformative cards in a tarot deck.

The Fool: Represents new beginnings, taking risks, and being open to the unknown.

The Magician: Signifies manifestation, creativity, and having the power to bring about change.

The High Priestess: Symbolizes intuition, inner wisdom, and spiritual guidance.

The Empress: Represents nurturing, fertility, and abundance.

The Emperor: Signifies authority, structure, and leadership.

The Hierophant: Symbolizes tradition, religion, and spiritual practices.

The Lovers: Represents love, relationships, and partnerships.

The Chariot: Signifies willpower, determination, and the ability to overcome obstacles.

Strength: Symbolizes inner strength, courage, and fortitude.

The Hermit: Represents solitude, introspection, and seeking inner wisdom.

The Wheel of Fortune: Signifies cycles, change, and destiny.

Justice: Symbolizes fairness, balance, and karma.

The Hanged Man: Represents surrender, letting go, and releasing control.

Death: Signifies transformation, endings, and new beginnings.

Temperance: Symbolizes balance, harmony, and moderation.

The Devil: Represents temptation, addiction, and materialism.

The Tower: Signifies chaos, upheaval, and sudden change.

The Star: Symbolizes hope, inspiration, and faith.

The Moon: Represents intuition, emotions, and the subconscious.

The Sun: Signifies happiness, joy, and success.

Judgment: Symbolizes renewal, rebirth, and awakening.

The World: Represents completion, fulfillment, and achievement.

Minor Arcana:

The minor arcana cards represent the day-to-day events and experiences of life. They are divided into four suits: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles, each with their own unique characteristics and meanings.


The suit of wands represents creativity, passion, and inspiration.

Ace of Wands: Signifies new beginnings, creative energy, and enthusiasm.

Two of Wands: Represents planning, decision-making, and taking action.

Three of Wands: Symbolizes expansion, growth, and progress.

Four of Wands: Signifies celebration, harmony, and community.

Five of Wands: Represents competition, conflict, and tension.

Six of Wands: Symbolizes victory, success, and recognition.

Seven of Wands: Signifies challenges, perseverance, and standing up for oneself.

Eight of Wands: Represents speed, movement, and forward progress.

Nine of Wands: Symbolizes resilience, perseverance, and determination.

Ten of Wands: Signifies burdens, responsibilities, and feeling overwhelmed.


The suit of cups represents emotions, intuition, and relationships.

Ace of Cups: Signifies new beginnings, emotional fulfillment, and love.

Two of Cups: Represents partnership, harmony, and balance.

Three of Cups: Symbolizes celebration, joy, and community.

Four of Cups: Signifies contemplation, apathy, and dissatisfaction.

Five of Cups: Represents loss, disappointment, and grief.

Six of Cups: Symbolizes nostalgia, childhood memories, and innocence.

Seven of Cups: Signifies choices, fantasies, and illusions.

Eight of Cups: Represents walking away, letting go, and moving on.

Nine of Cups: Symbolizes satisfaction, contentment, and emotional fulfillment.

Ten of Cups: Signifies harmony, domestic bliss, and emotional fulfillment.


The suit of pentacles represents material possessions, finances, and the physical world.

Ace of Pentacles: Signifies new beginnings, financial opportunity, and material abundance.

Two of Pentacles: Represents balance, flexibility, and adaptability.

Three of Pentacles: Symbolizes teamwork, collaboration, and skill.

Four of Pentacles: Signifies possessiveness, control, and greed.

Five of Pentacles: Represents hardship, poverty, and financial struggles.

Six of Pentacles: Symbolizes generosity, charity, and sharing wealth.

Seven of Pentacles: Signifies patience, perseverance, and waiting for results.

Eight of Pentacles: Represents dedication, hard work, and skill development.

Nine of Pentacles: Symbolizes self-sufficiency, financial stability, and independence.

Ten of Pentacles: Signifies legacy, inheritance, and generational wealth.


The suit of swords represents the mind, communication, and conflict.

Ace of Swords: Signifies clarity, truth, and mental clarity.

Two of Swords: Represents decision-making, choices, and indecision.

Three of Swords: Symbolizes heartbreak, sorrow, and emotional pain.

Four of Swords: Signifies rest, retreat, and healing.

Five of Swords: Represents defeat, betrayal, and conflict.

Six of Swords: Symbolizes moving on, transition, and travel.

Seven of Swords: Signifies deception, trickery, and dishonesty.

Eight of Swords: Represents restriction, imprisonment, and feeling trapped.

Nine of Swords: Symbolizes anxiety, fear, and nightmares.

Ten of Swords: Signifies betrayal, ruin, and hitting rock bottom.

In conclusion, understanding the meanings of the tarot cards can provide valuable insight and guidance in various areas of life. If you are interested in learning more about tarot card reading course or pursuing a tarot card course, it is important to familiarize yourself with the meanings of each card and how they may apply to different situations. Remember, the interpretation of tarot cards is subjective and can vary from reader to reader, so trust your intuition and take what resonates with you.


What are tarot cards used for?

Tarot cards are commonly use for divination and spiritual guidance. They can be used to gain insight into different areas of life, such as relationships, career, and personal growth.

How many cards are in a tarot deck?

A standard tarot deck contains 78 cards. There are two main types of cards: the Major Arcana (22 cards) and the Minor Arcana (56 cards, divided into four suits: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles).

What is the Major Arcana?

The Major Arcana are the 22 cards in a tarot deck that represent significant life lessons or archetypes. Each card has a unique meaning and can be used to gain insight into major life events or spiritual journeys.

What is the Minor Arcana?

The Minor Arcana are the 56 cards in a tarot deck that represent more everyday aspects of life, such as emotions, relationships, and career. They are divided into four suits (Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles), with each suit representing a different element and theme.

Share this post:

Related Posts
Latest Posts
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit eiusmod tempor ncididunt ut labore et dolore magna